The list of the various types of medals awarded in a swimming sports includes; Awards – Gold, Silver and Bronze
Only two swimmers per country are allowed to compete in any individual swimming event. Some countries might not have any entries in some events or might have only one entry, all based on how many of their swimmers achieved Olympic qualifying times. Each country is allowed to enter one relay team; the swimmers on that relay team might change between the preliminary heats and the finals.
• Each Olympic swimming heat has a maximum of eight swimmers, but there can be multiple heats for any event.
• There are preliminaries in the 50m, 100m and 200m distances, followed by the top 16 moving to two semi-final heats, with the winner of each semi-final plus the next 6 fastest moving to the finals.
• In the relays and longer individual events the eight fastest finishers in the preliminary heats move straight to the finals.
• In the finals, it is simple. The fastest swimmer gets the gold medal, second gets the silver medal, and third gets the bronze medal.
• Finish times are taken to the hundredth (.00). Because of this, ties could (and do) occur if multiple swimmers finish a race with identical times. If a tie occurs in a preliminary (a tie for 16th) or semi-final (a tie for 8th) that would cause more than the appropriate number of swimmers to advance to the next round, a swim-off occurs between the tied swimmers.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s